Customer Comments

Great experience!

Couldn't be happier. I had previously had a competitor's chamber I received on trade and I wasn't happy with the performance. Called Curtis, I expected a 5 minute phone call and instead received about 45 minutes of the man's time. He gave great guidance and answered questions honestly giving multiple options and viewpoints none of which were towards spending more or even pressuring ordering from him. I placed my order and a few weeks later received a custom built chamber that was as simple as could be to start stabilizing. Several batches in and I'm a happy camper.

Warren
Georgia
Date: 2017-08-05

Excellent!

I have ordered multiple times from Curtis at TurnTex Woodworks.  My orders are always filled and shipped quickly and accurately.  The FAQ section is very extensive and covers just about every topic.  Thanks again!

Chris Sowa
Muskegon, MI
Date: 2017-08-03

Always a pleasure

Every time I have ordered from Turn Tex it has been a good experience. Curtis has always been there to answer any question I have had. I am a lifetime customer and will be coming back to buy a tamer as soon as they are back in stock. Thanks 

Tracy Williams
Casper Wyoming
Date: 2017-08-03

Great products, service and super fast delivery!

Thank you Curtis, TurnTex and Cactus Juice from the guys at DeadWoodLumberCo.Com.  Your products and service has helped to create a lot of opportunity for us with stabilized material.  KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK-Jim

 

Jim Scoggins
Trinidad, TX.
Date: 2017-08-03

Oven Tamer

Works great ! It keeps the oven within 1 degree on either side of the target temperature.  Great service as usual.

D. Wardman
Michigan
Date: 2017-07-31

Always quick shipping

I always know I will get my product quickly without any bullshit- great products and service at a great price - that's why I keep coming back- and as long as it stays that way I won't get my supplies anywhere else!!

Carl Gress
Reinholds,Pa
Date: 2017-07-31

Great product

Great product. Fast shipping and a lot of support from Turntex. Excellent to deal with!! A++++

Agave Ridge Knifeworks
New Mexico
Date: 2017-07-30

Good News...

I am pleased to provide this brief commentary with regard to my recent ordering experience with TurnTex Woodworks in that it has reaffirmed my belief that family owned businesses and personal integrity is well and alive in America and the Republic of Texas.

I was referred to TurnTex Woodworks by numerous members of the American Association of Woodturning (AAW) and the International Association of Penturners (IAP) as being the definitive source of information, help and, of course, products dealing with the process of wood stabilization.  I found a wealth of knowledge, and a store of quality products and merchandize in the form of Mr. Curtis Seebeck, owner and proprietor of TurnTex.  

The WoodTurning World is varied and vast in size with numerous vendors and homegrown businesses clamoring for attention.  Without regard to making a sale or not, Mr. Seebeck was able, based on my limited knowledge of wood stabilization, to provide me with information, product selections and reference material necessary to meet my needs and requirements.  His primary obligation, and that of TurnTex, is to provide their existing and prospective customers with the correct information to make intelligent choices without regard to personal gain, 

Would I return to TurnTex for additional supplies, information and guidance?  You bet.

Would I refer TurnTex to my colleagues in woodturning with the assurance that they would receive honest and correct information and high quality products?  You bet.

As far as Mr. Seebeck is concerned, I can only extend my best wishes for the continued success of TurnTex Woodworks and to a man whose personal work ethic is something we should all strive to achieve.

John E Beck
Parsippany, New Jersey
Date: 2017-07-30

Using Cactus Juice to Close Pores in Fiberglass Reinforced Plastic

Ur-Water, LLC has a project for which we needed to use a stiff plastic as end plates for a plate-and-frame water treatment device. We settled on a fiberglass reinforced plastic (FRP). When we tested the treatment device, we found that the FRP leaked like crazy under pressure. My consulting engineer remembered that Cactus Juice could be used to seal light porous wood, so we tried it for our application. It appears to have worked well. Although we have not yet fully tested the treated FRP, we are optimistic that Cactus Juice has solved this problem for us. 

Walter Zeltner
Madison, WI
Date: 2017-07-26

Great Service. !!

Good day folks,

  This is such a great website with easy to use navigation.  All of the products listed include a detailed description. Also if you have any questions you can chat with Curtis and if he is not online he will get back to you ASAP.

 

 I ordered my product's  and with great surprise my order was filled and delivered the same week.

TLG

 

terry
Danville, Pa
Date: 2017-07-23

Very satisfied as always

Fast friendly service . . received shipment in two days.   :-)

James Mercer
Saginaw, MI
Date: 2017-07-21

Good to do business with

Not only a good product but great costumer service and shipping. Nice to do business with people that care about return business and satisfied customers. 

Tom Speelman
Paradise, Ca.
Date: 2017-07-20

Love your product

I'am using cactus juice for stabilizing wood for the knife handles and alumilite for casting. Beautiful product. You can make worthless wood strong and use them for knives or any other craft you do. 

 

Michael Bodnar
NY
Date: 2017-07-20

Outstanding Customer service

I have to say this, In my 6o+ years I have never experienced customer service like what Curtis offers. Orders are shipped out and delivered promptly and sometimes quicker. Thanks Curtis!

Dan Dragon
Rhode Island
Date: 2017-07-20

Great product and service

I enjoy using Cactus Juice. It's not complicated, doesn't produce fumes or odors, and the results are always top notch. Last order arrived before I expected it! Fast, friendly people with a great product.

Bryce Piper
Stafford, VA
Date: 2017-07-19

Great deal

I bought 1/2 gallon of Cactus Juice and I am satisfied. The website is clear, no hidden costs, many different options to personalize the delivery which in my case was perfectly on time with the schedule.

Highly recommended.

Giorgio
Rome (ITA)
Date: 2017-07-17

New dyes

First up as always Curtis and Gage do a great job of rapidly filling orders and getting them shipped. I've only had a chance to use a couple of the new dyes Curtis has recently unleashed on us. The material I used was of a darker shade than I would normally use but I decided to go ahead. So far the results are great. I'm really looking forward to seeing how the double dyed stuff I'm working on turns out.

Brad Geiger
Logan, Ohio
Date: 2017-07-17

Unmatched Customer Service!

When I became interested in stabilizing I talked to Curtis a couple of times online and then he suggested why not just give him a call. Wow, you don't find service like that anymore. I talked with him on the phone numerous times and he is always glad to help... all this before I ever ordered anything from him. Great products & great service! As we country boys like to say, "Ya can't beat that with a stick"! :- )

Tim Pollock
TN
Date: 2017-07-17

Excellent service

Hi Curtis

 

Your products and service are excellent. My order is always dispatched promptly. I live in Australia so getting what I need is important. Your company has never let me down. Keep up the good work.

 

cheers

 

Barry Abberton

 

Queensland

 

Australia

Barry Abberton
Australia
Date: 2017-07-16

Oven Tamer

Ok, I'll admit that I was pretty (read really) skeptical about the validity of this purchase. I figured this money could be better spent on Cactus Juice or Alumilite but man was I wrong. I am thoroughly impressed with how well the Oven Tamer works. It keeps the temps level in my cheapie toaster oven which is even better since my cheap oven thermometer registered as much as 50* higher than the Oven Tamer registered. 


I'm drying pine cones and sweet gum balls right now at a steady 200 degrees and it'll sit there for 24 or more hours before I transfer them to one of Curtis's stabilizing chambers and cover it with Cactus Juice. 


In any event, I just wanted to add my level of satisfaction on this product, and all of the stuff I've gotten from TurnTex. It shipped the next day that he said the wait time was on the website. Overall my contacts have been remarkably easy and seamless. 


I'll close this long post with a message to Curtis O. Seebeck....


Shut up and take my money!!!

Howard Vamardelle
Willis, Texas
Date: 2017-07-16

Awesome job as usual

Very good company to do buisness with. Very fast shipping 

Thanks

Boo Persica
Baton Rouge
Date: 2017-07-15

Thank you.

Thanks for a great product Curtis.

Rick Robbins
Washington State
Date: 2017-07-14

1st time wood Stabilizing

Hi Curtis

After viewing your website & reading everything on it then reading a lot of woodturning comments on YouTube, I ordered the 2 gallons of Cactus Juice from you & ordered a Vac system from Amazon on the same day. The juice arrived 7 days  before the Vac system, so very prompt service from you.

I have ordered & used stabilized wood for pens, bottle stoppers & razors over a few years with varied success. Many blanks broke apart while turning & upon exam, I found resin or whatever had not completely penetrated the wood, so liking the idea of using stabilized blanks, I thought I'd try doing it myself.

 I just received the Vac chamber & pump yesterday, so have not used them yet but I will comment ASAP. BTW, I do appreciate you including a list of do's & don'ts  with the shipment.

You may be interested to know that I was stationed at Gary Air Force base in San Marcos, Tx in 1954-56 ( telling my age, huh)

 

 

Wayne Ballard
Owensboro, Ky
Date: 2017-07-13

One of the best there is!

Always a pleasure working with Turn Tex! Curtis really is all about his customers and you get a sense of family when talking with him. Always enjoy the website and the awesome advice from him and the community! Thank you all for being extremely easy to work with and super inattentive.

Peter Chavez
Watsonville, CA
Date: 2017-07-13

great product

My primary source of stabilizing products. 5 stars for me!

Thanks!

Kennard Laviers
Alpine TX
Date: 2017-07-13

Continued great service!

Curtis and crew do a superb job taking care of the customer and providing quality products! Thanks guys! 

 

M Doyle

Mike Doyle
Washington
Date: 2017-07-10

Great

Great product. Super fast shippping! Thank you!!

Oscar
MĂ©xico
Date: 2017-07-10

Great customer service

Turn Tex Woodworks is a great company to do business with. I been a customer for several years and have never been disappointed.

Scott Prevost - Walking Cane  Company - Spokane WA

Scott Prevost
Spokane WA
Date: 2017-07-09

Great stabilizing product

I ordered half a gallon of Cactus Juice to Finland. It was shipped almost immediately and the shipping though USPS was fast. I've now used the whole batch of the Juice and am very pleased about the performance. I've stabilized knife handles (traditional Finnish knives are hidden-tang type) and the juice lasted for 22 handles. I've mainly stabilized curly birch and willow root, but also experimented with rotted birch which also stabilized nicely with nice colors. All the handles finish beautifully and seem very resistant to moisture and dirt (extensive testing to be done). I'll highly recommend this product.

Jyri N
Finland
Date: 2017-07-07

4" pvc and universal lid

I bought just materials and  a lid for it. The pvc was cut well. The lid was well done. This took a couple days longer than normal but it was still shipped as soon as possible. Because of the aaw symposium. But as usual well worth the small wait. Curtis does an awesome job.

James Nix
Mckinney texas
Date: 2017-07-06

Dyes and Cactus Juice

I ordered some color dye for stabilizing and as always I had a fast shipment from Turntex. The product is great and enjoyable to use.

Thanks Curtis for all the great products you offer but more importantly thanks for the help advice and tutorials!

 

Mike
Louisiana
Date: 2017-07-06

Ax Maker

I'm just a hobbyist and haven't used my resin yet because I'm still putting my vacuum chamber together, but the TurnTex customer service was spot on. They answered all of my questions very quickly, my order shipped almost immediately and I was able to track my order down to the day it was going to be here. I chose TurnTex products because when reading reviews outside of the website, other people liked it so much that they didn't want or have a need to use anything else. Naturally wanting to get the most out of my product, that was my reasoning. If the product is half as good as the customer service, I'll be a very happy man. Thanks guys! I'm look forward to using this. 

Tristan A
Salt Lake City
Date: 2017-07-05

vacuum

Hi Curtis; I am having some problems with the vacuuming process. I have gone through two oil pump vacuums in the last 4 months. They are used pumps but I am wondering what I am doing wrong. My vacuum is pulling 27.5 but maybe I am leaving it on too long. I am running the process on and off for a period of two to three days or until there are very few bubbles coming out. I am getting a bit discouraged! Help please. I put an inline dryer in the second attempt. Still seized the pump......

Jim Kroshus

Jim Kroshus
Moose JawCanada
Date: 2017-07-05

Elk antler

Works very well on elk antler. Penetrated deep, carrying the dye with it. Finishes beautifully with no VOC odor. First time using Cactus Juice, definitely not the last.

Dan
Tallahassee, Florida
Date: 2017-07-05

First Class Service

"The Trusted Source"  This company earned this title. Great information and product support, fast shipping and safe packaging.

Sean
Cotopaxi, CO
Date: 2017-07-03

Knife Materials

I ordered the materials with the a bit of reservation.  After all ordering wood across the internet.  I was very pleasantly surprised and vary satisfied.  Will I order from them again, in a cowboy heartbeat.  Keep up the fine work and you will have a great thriving business in no time.  

AJS Knifes
Wyoming
Date: 2017-07-02

Great products and company

I have ordered Cactus Juice, temperature controller and more.  Great products and service.   I even had a question and could get ahold of a real person.   I would highly recommend them and people should explore the ability to impregnate their wood pieces for projects.   Thanks

Mike Riebel
Mankato MN
Date: 2017-07-02

Very happy customer

Great service!  Fast shipping!

Jon Fredrik Holmberg
Norway
Date: 2017-06-29

Fast and good service

I got immediate feedback on my order and was notified as to its progress.  Quick to ship and was delivered in just a few days.  Well packed as well.  I'll post again once I have a chance to stabilize some of the spalted wood in my woodpile.

Rick
McDonough. GA
Date: 2017-06-27

everything I expected!

First time order for cautus juice. Got it on time. Came with nice instruction. Information on how and where to get help if I needed it. Will order again!

Tim
indiana
Date: 2017-06-25

super easy

even when you live in the EU its still super easy to get send over here with a super service 

ive tryed abit of stabilizing resin but i must say hands down Cactus Juice just fits my needs 100% and is super easy to use and clean off after work 

and gives a perfect finish really brings out the veins in the wood and repair if theres small cracks 

not gonna be the last time i use Cactus Juice! 

Andreas
denmark
Date: 2017-06-25

Cactus Juice & Alumilite

TurnTex Woodworks provides prompt professional service for a reasonable price. I will continue  to purchase my wood turning supplies from them.

Ted Ferreira
Date: 2017-06-25

Great service.

Ordered 3 gallons of cactus juice.  Had it a week later.  Shipped the same day I ordered.   Perfect.  Thank you. 

Chuck Richards
Salem Oregon
Date: 2017-06-22

Turntex service

I am very impressed not only with the products that Turntex provides, but i am also impressed with the service. The shipping is always fast and everything is priced competitively. Keep up the good work.

Thanks 

Travis Fleming @ Fleming's Fabrications 

Travis Fleming
Greenville TX
Date: 2017-06-22

Great company!

Curtis,  

Once again you have provided a great product in a timely fashion.   However,  just as a suggestion,  the boxes that you use from USPS need a little more tape.  When my product arrived,  it was barely contained and was breaking through the seams.  Maybe a little more tape would help with that. 

Thanks, 

Rob 

Rob Roby
Indiana
Date: 2017-06-22

Fast Shipping

Shipping and customer service is absolutely the best I have seen in a very long time! Thank you for putting my order together so quickly and shipping so fast. Will be purchasing all my supplies from here from now on!

Brenda
Woodsboro Texas
Date: 2017-06-21

Orders

I ordered the Cactus Juice Vacuum Chamber and the the Oven Tamer Temperature Controller. Have used the Temperature Controller for drying some wooden items and it works as advertised. Have not used the Vacuum Chamber yet. The dry test was a success as it is ready to start the stabilizing. The best thing about you is your service in the help I needed in getting it all set up to actually use it. Thanks.

Donald Little
Pueblo, Colorado
Date: 2017-06-19

Great service

Ordered a vac chamber, and Cactus juice.  Both arrived in the projected time.  Great product well built and great customer service. 

Jim
Wyoming
Date: 2017-06-18

Outstanding products and customer support!

A couple months ago, I decided to begin stabilizing my knife scales.  I had no idea as to the process, except for a utube I had seen from a knifemaker in England who made reference to TurnTex and Cactus Juice.

I ordered the vacuum tube, anti-tip kit, 2 oven thermometers, and Cactus Juice.  I found the info provided by the website to be very helpful, as well as the enclosed booklet detailing the entire process. Additionally I had a few questions, that were answered immediately.

So far, I have run 3 "batches" of scales through the process, and they have all turned out perfectly.  I have stabilized some very soft Spalted Maple and Box Elder as well as more traditional hardwoods.  I also made a set of scales for a friend out of yellow pine to match some trim on his home.  All the scales turned out very hard, and easily buffed to an amazing luster once properly sanded.

It is a comfort to know, the knives I sell or give as gifts, will be useful for years to come, without concerns of the cracking or other degradation of unstabliized wood.

Thanks again to the folks at Turn Tex for producing great products made in the USA, and backed up by superior customer service!  

 

 

Matty May
Blairsville, Ga
Date: 2017-06-17

Best Customer Service

I talked with Curtis concerning questions about vacuum chambers last year. I bought the vacuum chamber from TurnTex and it worked great. I lost the plastic piece that holds the wood down below the liquid level. I asked about purchasing a replacement on TurnTex website and within two days I received an email the plastic part I lost was being shipped to me at no charge. Unbelievable! Curtis (TurnTex) would respond so quickly and send the part without charge. Such amazing customer service is rare these days and I hope TurnTex makes a billion dollars and stays in business.

Jim Edwards

Jim Edwards
Georgia
Date: 2017-06-16